top of page

Wed, Apr 06

|

Zoom Meeting

Isabella Stewart Gardner, a Venetian fantasy in Boston

Isabella developed an appreciation for the Italian Old Masters while traveling to her beloved Venice. She started collecting art creating one of the most astonishing private collections of Italian & European Art visible in the United States. Join this portrait of a remarkable female collector!

Registration is closed
See other events
Isabella Stewart Gardner, a Venetian fantasy in Boston
Isabella Stewart Gardner, a Venetian fantasy in Boston

Time & Location

Apr 06, 2022, 7:30 PM – 9:00 PM GMT+1

Zoom Meeting

Guests

About the Event

In the late 19th century, Isabella and her husband Jack started travelling regularly to Europe and found a particular liking to Venice. Isabella’s Venetian circle was composed by famous artists, historians, writers, and other art patrons.

Isabella, quickly smitten by the Serenissima, started developing an appreciation for the Italian Old Masters. She started collecting art in a serious and ambitious manner creating one of the most astonishing private collections of Italian art and European Art visible in the United States. She gathered paintings by Raphael, Titian, Botticelli, Vermeer, and Rembrandt to name a few.

In 1990, some of the most precious artworks in the collection were stolen in the most important art heist that ever happened. The mystery was never resolved, and the museum’s display shows the hope they will return one day.

Please join Tosca Ruggieri for an hour on the incredible life of Isabella Stewart Gardner and her legacy.

Please note that once you pay you will get an email confirming your payment. The link for the online lecture will be send to you a day before the lecture takes place in a second email. If you have not received any emails with a link, please check your spam or junk folder, or email us - well in advance - and we will manually send you the link.

Make sure to log on 10 min before the start of the talks. The talk will be held in Zoom Meeting, which means your camera and sound will be on when joining, and others will be able to see and hear you. Please mute yourself if you do not want this, and make sure to mute both sound and video upon commencement of the talk.

NO recording will be made of this event.

The currency used on this website is Great British Pounds, however this does not mean you can not pay in your local currency or with your local bank card!

The event takes place at

8.30PM (UTC+1) - Paris

7.30PM (GMT) - London

2.30PM (UTC−5) - New York, Washington D.C.

11.30AM (UTC-8) - Los Angeles, San Francisco

Tickets

  • Regular

    £15.00
    Sale ended
  • Creditor

    This ticket is for people who have paid offline in advance. Please note that you need to confirm your offline payment by sending us an email. Sales will be matched to our records, and you might be blocked from entering our talks.

    £0.00
    Sale ended

Total

£0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page